2017 Competition Guide


Welcome & Introduction

Rules & Clarifications

Scoring Spreadsheet

General Competition Information

Design Tips

Eligibility Requirements
Paper Competition
Business Meeting

Judges Training Meeting

Team Captain Meeting

Display Judging

Site Layout



Post Construction

Lateral Load Test

Vertical Load Tests
- Loading Devices
- Deflection Measurement
- Sway Measurement

Bridge Weight

Data Entry

History & Results



The first steel bridge competition was held in 1987 in Michigan. It was a local affair that eventually spread to other ASCE student conferences.  The first National competition was held in 1992. Within a few years, the event became one of the premier civil engineering student competitions in the United States. Now, ASCE student groups from Canada and Mexico participate regularly as well as other nations who periodically participate.

Professor Frank Hatfield has been involved in the competition from it's inception and presented a six-minute history of the event at the 2006 National competition. It is well worth the read!

History of the SSBC: 1987-2006
by Dr. Frank Hatfield, P.E.

Over the years, record keeping has also improved.  The following table includes the rules and results as available in our archives.

Year Champion Host Rules & Results
1992 Michigan State University Michigan State University Rules
1993 University of Alaska Fairbanks Southern Polytech Rules
1994 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute San Diego State University Rules
1995 North Dakota State University University of Florida Rules
1996 University of Alaska Anchorage SUNY Buffalo Rules
1997 University of Florida Cal Poly Pomona Rules
1998 University of Southwestern Louisiana Colorado State University Rules
1999 University of Nevada - Reno University of Alaska Anchorage Rules
2000 California State University - Chico Texas A&M University, College Station Rules
2001 Clemson University Clemson University Rules
2002 North Dakota State University University of Wisconsin, Madison Rules
2003 University of Michigan San Diego State University Rules, Nat'l
2004 North Dakota State University Colorado School of Mines Rules, Nat'l
2005 University of California, Davis University of Central Florida Rules, Nat'l
2006 North Dakota State University University of Utah Rules, Nat'l
2007 North Dakota State University California State University - Northridge Rules, Nat'l
2008 University of California, Berkeley University of Florida Rules, Nat'l
2009 SUNY Canton University of Nevada Las Vegas Rules, Nat'l, Regional
2010 North Dakota State University Purdue University Rules, Nat'l, Regional
2011 Lakehead University Texas A&M University, College Station Rules, Nat'l Results, Nat'l Data, Conf. Results
2012 University of California, Berkeley Clemson University Rules, Nat'l, Conf. Results
2013 University of California, Berkeley University of Washington Rules, Nat'l Results, Conf. Results
2014 University of California, Davis University of Akron Rules, Nat'l Results, Conf. Results
2015 University of Florida University of Missouri Kansas City Rules, Nat'l Results (pdf), Nat'l Results (xls), Conf. Results
 2016 École de Technologie Supérieure Brigham Young University Rules, Nat'l Results (pdf), Nat'l Results (xlsx), Conference Results
Maybe You??? Oregon State University  

Rules from 1991-2016 in one PDF